Keystone State Literacy Association

Motivated to Read,

Motivated to Lead

52nd Annual Conference


Hershey Lodge, Hershey PA

Mark Your Calendars Now 

Wednesday, October 30 – Friday, November 1, 2019

As you participate in our 51st Annual Conference, we want to invite you to attend our 52nd conference in Hershey, PA!  What better combination is there than learning about reading strategies, literacy, and chocolate!  With all of the advances in technology and the understanding that literacy isn’t just about reading anymore, our purpose hasn’t changed, even though our name has changed.

Please join us as we learn and network to motivate our readers so they are motivated to become leaders.  We are working hard to present sessions that will provide you with new strategies to use in your classroom the day you return to your districts.  We are excited to have speakers like Anita Archer, the Salingers, and Lynne Dorfman, and we continue to work on a great lineup that will focus on topics and strategies to help motivate our readers.  We also continue to invite wonderful authors who will inspire you during special events.

If you have great strategies you use or other literacy ideas you would like to share, consider submitting a proposal for our 2019 conference.  Program proposals must be submitted via Google form by April 1, 2019.  Proposals must be accompanied by a current one to two-page vita(e) for each presenter emailed to Aileen Hower at Confirmation of proposal receipt will be issued by May 1, 2019.  The Program Chair will send a formal invitation to the person submitting a proposal that is accepted for the 2019 KSLA conference program. Please use the following link to submit a proposal:

New and former presenters are welcome to share their passion for literacy and submit a proposal.  There will also be an opportunity for pre-service teachers from Pennsylvania colleges and universities to share their learning during a poster-session just for them.

Continue to check the KSLA website ( regularly throughout the year for updates about our 52nd annual conference, where we continue to celebrate literacy.

Sondra Jones

2019 Conference Chair